Lompoc > San Leandro – visiting uncle adam

Today we checked out of red roof inn. The receptionist let me phone my Great Uncle Adam. After a long jamieson style phone call, he told us to go ahead and head to his. He said he would book somewhere for dinner tonight for us all to go out.

It was a 5-6 hour drive. We drove for a while, heading north on the 101. After a couple of hours driving, I was hungry and wanted a rest. We took the next exit to the nearest subway. On the drive, it was like old country. Like everything we had saw in Old Town, this was it! One of the gas signs was priced “an arm”, “a leg” etc haha.

We stopped for food and fuel. No way were we going through that again. Then, continued the journey north.

We drove past Santa Maria and admired the ocean and cliffs.

At 6pm we arrived at Adams house. It was a one floor bungalow style. I knocked on the door, he opened it and said “my mammy says you’re no comin in!” And shut it on us ! 😂 Back to jamieson humour too I see! He opened it and gave me a big hug and welcomed us in. He gave scott a beer and we had a glass of wine. He showed me a picture from back in the day of my gran, papa, great uncles and my uncle Allan. He asked about everyone and told us some stories. He said he always enjoyed my dads piano playing and gave us a rendition of a song my dad used to play for him haha.

At half seven he took us out for dinner. For 89 he is doing incredibly well. He drove us to the marina where the restaurant was. He told us that the food is good because it’s so expensive. Oh dear! We both felt a bit worried about this!

The restaurant was lovely, styled like an old boat. It was right on the marina with a great view of the boats. The prices were as bad as we expected. I searched the menu for the cheapest thing and then adam said “don’t look at the prices, just get what you want, I have to find someone to spend my money on”. This was so nice of him! I thanked him and ensured this was okay with him. I ordered BBQ ribs and scott had Cajun chicken pasta. Adam had a sampler with crab, steak and various small dishes.

As the restaurant had wifi, scott and I started checking for hotels. Then adam said “Why’s everybody looking down? I got a fright there, thought everyone was saying a prayer!” Haha!

The food was amazing and there was so much of it we had to get doggy bags.

We headed back to the house. Adam said I could use the computer to find hotels. Everywhere we looked was so expensive and in areas we didn’t consider. I asked adam if we would be able to stay tonight and find somewhere else tomorrow. He said that would be fine and asked in that case did I want another wine. I of course said yes.

The three of us sat exchanging stories and we listened to adam tell us about his life and a lot of things he’d done. He told me to tell my dad that he loves him and that he’s grown into a handsome man.

As it passed 11pm my eyes began to close. I’d been out drank by an 89 year old. Adam sorted our room and we said thanks as we headed to bed.

Leave a comment