San Leandro > San Francisco

Today we got up and started looking for hotels. They were so expensive, I felt sick. Anything affordable was in Oakland which adam insisted we avoid due to the neighbourhoods. We couldn’t really abide by this though to the expensive of central San Francisco. Eventually we found an air bnb in Oakland for £60pn (this was the cheapest). I put in a request to book and waited. And waited and waited.

We took our leftovers out the fridge and had these for lunch. I checked the iPad but we still did t have a reply.

Eventually we sat outside in the sun to pass the time. Adam fell asleep, haha. I felt bad that we were still there and suggested to scott we head out for food and wifi and wait elsewhere. Just then, my auntie carol phoned and got a surprise when I said hello! It was nice to hear from her.

We said goodbye to adam who seemed pleased to have had us visit. We thanked him for our meal and nights stay. We told him we would have him in Scotland. “Why the hell would I want to go there?” Was his response. 😂

We headed to the retail park near our air bnb entrance. There was a target so we picked up water and crisps. I was so thirsty I drank so much of our gallon of water! We headed to Burger King nearby for wifi and food. I managed today get wifi in the car park so checked our messages. We had one – declined! The cow had declined our request to stay! No message to say why or anything. I was so upset and at the end of my tether. It was now 6pm and we had nowhere to stay. We went into Burger King to sit. Scott ordered food and the man behind me asked me for the time. As we ate our food, the same man asked us if we have leftovers could we leave them and not bin them. I noticed his own tray of food and thought, bloody hell! However, I soon realised when I noticed his backpack, he was homeless. Unfortunately for him, we can only afford just enough for ourselves!

I searched the Internet for SOMEWHERE to stay. I found a motel in San Francisco for £300 for three nights. It was ridiculous but the cheapest hotel within a reasonable distance I could find. Scott suggested booking one night and then trying to find another tomorrow. But I just wanted our stay here sorted so we could spend our time sightseeing instead of on wifi and driving to hotels. So I booked three nights through gritted teeth.

I felt a lot better though and we headed off. Our GPS told us the hotel it was 8 miles away but gave us a 105 mile 2 hour route. I ignored the GPS and drove the way I knew it was. Turns out the GPS was avoiding a toll on the bay bridge – ridiculous! For the sake of a 97 mile saving for $4. The view over the bay bridge was amazing too as we drove over treasure island into San Francisco.

We soon arrived at our hotel – to no car spaces. Just as someone else parked in the last one, We parked in a disabled space and went to check in. The people who had parked, were in front of us, and it turns out their credit card was declined and they’d given their room away – TO US! :). They were transferred to a nearby hotel and as they left, scott parked in their space. We got our keys and headed up to our room.

The room was nice, but for the most expensive room we’ve ever stayed in in our lives, I wanted more haha. We walked over to Walgreens and got bread and crisps. We had crisp sandwiches for dinner and fell asleep.

Leave a comment